World Bank GroupWorld Bank Group Home  •  Site Map  •  Index  •  FAQs  •  Contact Us



The CPIA measures the extent to which a country’s policy and institutional framework supports sustainable growth and poverty reduction, and consequently the effective use of development assistance. CPIA is produced by World Bank staff for purposes of allocating IDA funds where they will be most effective in reducing poverty.


How often is data collected?


What is the scope of indicators?

AGIs, which are aggregated into an index.

What kind of data is collected?

Expert assessments that consist of 16 criteria: Macroeconomic Management; Fiscal Policy; Debt Policy; Trade; Financial Sector; Business Regulatory Environment; Gender Equality; Equity of Public Resource Use; Building Human Resources; Social Protection and Labor; Policies and Institutions for Environmental Sustainability; Property Rights and Rule-based Governance; Quality of Budgetary and Financial Management; Efficiency of Revenue Mobilization; Quality of Public Administration; Transparency, Accountability and Corruption in the Public Sector. Please refer to the CPIA 2008 Assessment Questionnaire for more detailed information.

What is being measured?

Indicators are focused on design features (policies, regulations, etc), but some capacities and performance features are included.

How is data collected?

Data is collected through surveys of World Bank country experts, using quantitative and qualitative country data to guide ratings. The process of preparing the ratings involves two phases: (a) the benchmarking phase, in which a small, representative, sample of countries is rated in an intensive Bankwide process; and (b) a second phase, in which the remaining countries are rated using the derived benchmark ratings as guideposts. Please refer to the CPIA FAQs for more detailed information.

What do the data values mean?

For each criterion, countries are rated on a scale of 1 (low) to 6 (high). A 1 rating corresponds to a very weak performance, and a 6 rating to a very strong performance. Intermediate scores of 1.5, 2.5, 3.5, 4.5 and 5.5 may also be given. See the CPIA Assessment Questionnaire for more details on scoring for individual criteria.

Have there been changes in methodology/coverage?

Over time, both the indicator set and the methodology have been revised to reflect the changing understanding of development. Please refer to the CPIA FAQs for more detailed information.

What are the limitations of the data?

Due to the sensitive nature of the data, detailed explanations of the rating process are not available to the public.